» Today: 05/12/2021
First Vietnamese conservationist to win "Green Nobel"
On June 15, the Goldman Environmental Prize honored 6 individuals who are active in the environment on different continents, including Mr. Nguyen Van Thai - Director of the Center for Wildlife Conservation in Vietnam (Save Vietnam's Wildlife - SVW) is a representative from Asia.

Mr. Thai founded SVW - headquartered in Cuc Phuong National Park - in 2014, with the desire to prevent illegal wildlife hunting and trade; and recovery of endangered species in Vietnam. Hence, he has established two rehabilitation centers for pangolins in Cuc Phuong and Pu Mat national parks; a training facility for rangers and border guards on wildlife conservation, skills in using GPS and drone technology. Besides, he also organizes education and outreach campaigns, publishes articles, writes documents on pangolin care and rescue to raise public awareness.

Since SVW came into operation to date, the Center has rescued 1,540 pangolins in Vietnam from the illegal animal trade; The anti-poaching team in Pu Mat National Park broke about 10,000 poaching traps, confiscated 90 guns, 800 cages, arrested 600 poachers and illegal traders.

The Goldman Environmental Prize, founded in 1989 by American philanthropists Richard and Rhoda Goldman, is likened to the Nobel Prize in the field of environment. Before Mr. Thai, Vietnam had Mrs. Nguyen Thi Khanh - Director of Green Innovation Development Center (GreenID) - receiving this award for her efforts to promote the transition to the use of sustainable and eco-friendly forms of environmentally friendly renewable energy instead of coal.

Follow www.khoahocphattrien.vn
© Copyright 2010, Information and Documentation Center under Can Tho Science and Technology Department
Address: 118/3 Tran Phu street, Cai Khe ward, Ninh Kieu district, Can Tho city Tel: 0710 3824031 - Fax: 0710 3812352 Email: tttlcantho@cantho.gov.vn License No. 200/GP-TTÐT dated November 11st, 2011 by Agency for Radio, Television and Electronic Information under Minister of Information and Communication